City Government

Minneapolis is governed by a Mayor and City Council who are elected by the people of the City. The Mayor and City Council acting together are the Governing Body. The Mayor serves a two-year term while all other members of the governing body members serve four-year terms. The Governing Body, being the elected representative of the people, adopts all ordinances and resolutions and determines the general goals and policies.

Council meetings
  • Held once a month
  • Second Tuesday of every month
  • 7:00 P.M.
  • 311 N. Mill
Elected Officials
  • Travis Shaft, Mayor
  • Damon McKinney, Treasurer
  • Kaely Jackson, Council Member, Ward 1
  • Cathy Hoover, Council Member, Ward 1
  • Lanny Zadina, Council Member, Ward 2
  • Cassie Bohl, Council Member, Ward 2
  • Ed Wright, Council President, Ward 3
  • Dave Sweat, Council Member, Ward 3